Baked Oatmeal with Blueberries & Banana

IMG_7877f-4

I first made this recipe when we were hosting my husband’s family for brunch a few years back.  Have I mentioned that his mother runs a bed and breakfast? I was a bit nervous, but it was a great time and everyone loved this oatmeal.  How often does ‘love’ and ‘oatmeal’ come together in a sentence, unless the word oatmeal is followed by ‘cookie’?

I have heard that since our brunch, this very oatmeal has been served at The Looking Glass house – with many requests for the recipe from the guests.

I also like this recipe because it is truly customizable – you could use seasonal produce, or adapt personal tastes (apples, peaches, raspberries); omit or change the nut; or use steel cut oats.

Hope you enjoy!

Ingredients
1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
¼ cup chopped walnuts
½ teaspoon baking powder
¾ teaspoon cinnamon|
pinch of salt
¼ cup pure maple syrup
1 cup milk
1 large egg, beaten
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2-3 ripe bananas, peeled and sliced
1 cup blueberries
Instructions
1.       Preheat the oven to 375F
2.       Lightly grease a baking dish – we usually use a 9 inch glass pie dish
3.       In a medium bowl, mix together the oats, half the nuts, baking powder, cinnamon and salt
4.       In a liquid measuring cup, combine syrup, milk, egg, butter, and vanilla
5.       Spread the sliced bananas in a single layer in the dish. Top with half of the blueberries. Evenly sprinkle the dry ingredients over the fruit. Pour the liquid ingredients over the oats. Top with remaining blueberries and nuts
6.       Bake for 35-40 minutes until the top is browned and the oats have set. Let cool for about 10 minutes before serving

IMG_7886 (2)-4

Source(s):
so, how’s it taste?
Annie’s Eats

4 thoughts on “Baked Oatmeal with Blueberries & Banana

  1. I will definitely be making this. Oddly enough, I was eating a lazy man’s version of this recipe as I read your entry: oatmeal, almond milk and raspberries. I love oatmeal! Although, I bet yours is the superior dish.

    Nice pictures, and nice first entries! You keep posting and I’ll keep reading :).

Leave a comment