Roasted Sweet Potato and Chickpea Salad

IMG_3902

Sometimes I feel like I misrepresent myself. I scroll through my shared photos of meals and it appears as though I have the eating habits of a pubescent boy. Now, don’t get me wrong. I have indulged in all of these things; however, I recognize that one must have balance. One must eat: nutrients.

We usually try to eat vegetarian meals 3-4 nights a week – this is a template for pretty typical dinner in our house.  As we transition into fall, we crave those belly warming meals – I find this salad exceptionally satisfying.

You really can play around with this; substitute the legume, cheese; and add whatever vegetables you have and/or crave. Other vegetables I have often included with good results, (but are not seen in the photograph) are: red onion, broccoli, butternut squash, and zucchini.  You could also top with a fried egg!
Serves: 2-3
Ingredients

1 large sweet potato, diced into about ½ – 1 inch cubes
1 red pepper, chopped
2-3 tablespoons herbs, roughly chopped (we had rosemary, lemon thyme, and oregano)
1-2 tablespoons olive oil
Salt & pepper
1 cup chickpeas
3-4 large handfuls of spring mix
Feta cheese, to taste
Dressing (Jazz this up as necessary; I love the simplicity)
3:1 ratio of olive oil and white balsamic vinegar
Salt and pepper
Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425F.
  2. Prepare the sweet potato, red pepper, and herbs. Coat in olive oil and season generously with salt and pepper.
  3. Bake for 15 minutes. At this point add the red pepper and most of the herbs. Reserve some of the oregano for the final product.
  4. Continue to bake for another 15 minutes or so, tossing as needed, until the sweet potatoes are tender.
  5. Meanwhile, prepare the mixed greens with dressing to taste. Divide on plates.
  6. When the veggies are ready, toss with chickpeas on the baking sheet.  Divide between the plates. Top with feta.IMG_3900
Leave a Reply

